Patrick Bertoletti from Chicago claimed his first title at the renowned Nathan’s Famous Fourth of July hotdog eating contest.

Victory with 58 Hotdogs

In a gripping 10-minute showdown, Bertoletti consumed 58 hotdogs, surpassing his previous personal record of 55. The competition was fierce, with the lead changing hands multiple times.

Absence of Joey Chestnut

The notable absence of 16-time champion Joey “Jaws” Chestnut was a major storyline this year. Chestnut, who won last year by eating 62 hotdogs, holds the record of 76 hotdogs set in 2021. His absence was due to a sponsorship conflict with Impossible Foods, a plant-based meat company. Despite the organizers, Major League Eating, lifting the initial ban, Chestnut decided not to return without an apology.

Bertoletti’s Reaction

“With Joey not here, I knew I had a shot,” said Bertoletti. “I unlocked something within myself today.”

Chestnut’s Alternative Competition

Instead of competing at Coney Island, Chestnut participated in an event at Fort Bliss army base in El Paso, attempting to out-eat four soldiers in five minutes with traditional franks. Impossible Foods promoted Chestnut’s YouTube livestream by flying banners over Los Angeles and Miami.

Mayor’s Comment

New York’s Mayor, Eric Adams, commented on the situation via social media, urging all parties to resolve their differences and bring back Chestnut, calling the situation “impossible” without him.

Upcoming Showdown

Chestnut, who earned an estimated $4 million from competitive eating last year, is also set to compete against his long-time rival Takeru Kobayashi in a Netflix special in September.

Miki Sudo’s Victory

In the women’s division, defending champion Miki Sudo from Florida secured her 10th title by consuming 51 hotdogs in 10 minutes, setting a new women’s world record. Sudo outperformed 13 competitors, including her main rival Mayoi Ebihara from Japan, who finished second with 37 hotdogs.

Event Highlights

Thousands of fans gathered at the original Nathan’s location in Brooklyn’s Coney Island. Competitors from over a dozen states and five continents, including Brazil, Japan, the UK, South Korea, Australia, and the Czech Republic, competed for the prestigious title and a $10,000 prize.